Texas Hunting Forum

New old boat

Posted By: TDK

New old boat - 07/12/20 03:56 AM

Ive been clammering to build or restore a mohogony boat for a few years now and pulled the trigger on a barn find 1941 Century 16' Utility today w/Graymarine "Fireball" I-6cyl. It would have been a little hotrod in its time, most boats this size had the 4-cyl. I'll have to talk to the experts to find out if its original(very rare), or added/swapped later.

The boat was refurbished in 1996 as shown in one of the photos below. Story from the widow is after being restored her husband only used it a few times for about two seasons and lost interest due to other hobbies and business operation, storing it in their barn covered until now. I guess once I dive in I'll find out if it was parked due to mechanical reasons. I couldn't find any rot or soft spots in the skin or frames, and the motor turns. Ive got a little damage on the bow just behind the cutwater. Plans for me are to delicately ensure/restore mechanical operation, then do a sympathetic restoration to the eras standards.

Project ahead:
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
Posted By: NORML as can be

Re: New old boat - 07/12/20 06:22 AM

Enjoy yourself have a great time. up
Posted By: BigPig

Re: New old boat - 07/12/20 10:40 AM

Very cool project. Always liked the wood boats
Posted By: bill oxner

Re: New old boat - 07/12/20 11:36 AM

Classic. cheers
Posted By: 68rustbucket

Re: New old boat - 07/12/20 01:33 PM

That oughta keep you busy for a while!
Posted By: jakebunch

Re: New old boat - 07/12/20 01:36 PM

Will be a definite "head turner" when you have it finished and on the water.
Posted By: SnakeWrangler

Re: New old boat - 07/12/20 06:02 PM

Sweet project...
Posted By: TEXASLEFTY

Re: New old boat - 07/13/20 12:56 AM

Wow!!! That thing is sweet! Congrats!!
Posted By: TXHOGSLAYER

Re: New old boat - 07/13/20 01:50 AM

Very nice. From the golden age of pleasure boating.