Texas Hunting Forum

Weird Text Regarding Doe

Posted By: Cinch

Weird Text Regarding Doe - 11/12/21 10:14 PM

My wife shot a doe on Sunday. It was processed at Whitakers in Iowa Park. It was a mature doe and nice size.
We just got the text below. When I responded, he said they are monitoring for CWD and asked for permission to test this doe and where our ranch was.
Anybody else get a text like the one below:

Ms. Walton, this is Charlie Newberry, I'm a wildlife biologist for this area with Texas Parks and Wildlife Department. I'm contacting about a deer you took into whitakers. Nothing is wrong. If you would please give me a call back at your convenience that would be great my number is 325-203-2037
Posted By: DQ Kid

Re: Weird Text Regarding Doe - 11/12/21 11:20 PM

Probably on the up and up since he divulged his personal information but I would probably make a confirming call into Austin TPWD headquarters as well.
Posted By: Michael W.

Re: Weird Text Regarding Doe - 11/13/21 01:25 AM

He is listed as a Wildlife Biologist in Baylor county. Looks legit.
Posted By: scottfromdallas

Re: Weird Text Regarding Doe - 11/13/21 01:50 AM

Biologist called me asking for permission to test the buck I shot opening day. I gave permission. They must be testing a certain number of deer in each county. I suspect they are doing it early in the season to catch any problems. Deer can have CWD for a long time before they start going downhill.
Posted By: Big_Ag

Re: Weird Text Regarding Doe - 11/13/21 11:08 PM

Charlie is legit, but I wouldn’t give permission. CWD has been in Texas for over 50 years at least and not been a problem. It’s text book example of government justifying funding or seeking more funding (tax dollars). Follow the $$$.
Posted By: Sewer rat

Re: Weird Text Regarding Doe - 11/14/21 03:21 PM

I ran into the biologist in Spur last weekend and he was checking every deer he could for CWD. We let him check the buck my son got.
Posted By: TCM3