Texas Hunting Forum

Hunting season end

Posted By: Dave Davidson

Hunting season end - 12/30/19 01:49 PM

Due to acorns, it was the worst since I bought the property in 1985. Now hoping for rains to keep the ponds/tanks wet enough to cover the backs of my fish.

The deer ought to be healthy with all the acorns they ate. That’s a plus.
Posted By: Longhunter

Re: Hunting season end - 12/30/19 01:59 PM

Hopefully it will continue to rain... Bucks are hitting the feeders hard here.
Posted By: Texas Dan

Re: Hunting season end - 12/30/19 03:09 PM

No surprise I'm still learning the patterns of the deer on the new place I started hunting this year. Still a few days left to see if the buck that tore up trees before and during the rut is still in the area. I have been able to take three hogs, including one large boar the landowner wanted badly.
Posted By: Whammer7

Re: Hunting season end - 12/30/19 07:17 PM

I spent some time in the stand this past weekend and noticed that the bucks and does seemed to be in great shape, fat even.

If we can get some rain, 2020 should be a great year for the deer
Posted By: txtrophy85

Re: Hunting season end - 12/30/19 08:35 PM

I has been really really bad here in Boerne for deer. I had 12 bucks on camera in September including two nice shooters. Nada since October. I was able to take 2 6 point culls but didn't see any real shooters
Posted By: Erathkid

Re: Hunting season end - 12/30/19 09:37 PM

Pretty much our story too. Slowest season I've ever had here. 3 shooters opening weekend but didn't want to shoot the first thing I saw. Deer are absent now. This will be a year for the deer. I'm OK with it.
Posted By: GusWayne

Re: Hunting season end - 12/30/19 10:33 PM

I agree, worst season in years

Good thing is the acorn crop like we had is abnormal

And I am curious to see what next year brings because of it
Posted By: Jimbo1

Re: Hunting season end - 12/30/19 10:59 PM

Originally Posted by Erathkid