Texas Hunting Forum

Legal Deer

Posted By: Setx Hunter

Legal Deer - 12/21/19 03:13 PM

I know this has probably been asked multiple times but I am just getting into deer hunting so I wanted to ask you guys.. I was curious if this was a legal deer to take. It looks to only have only side of antlers and possibly an antler on the other side. I just wanted some more info to know if I need to let it walk or not. Any info is appreciated.

TIA

Attached picture Deer.JPG
Posted By: Rustler

Re: Legal Deer - 12/21/19 03:19 PM

Are you hunting in an antler restrictions county?
Have you read your county regulations in the Outdoor Annual?

Re: Legal Deer - 12/21/19 03:22 PM

Hunting in Orange County.

The bag limit in this county is two legal bucks, but only ONE may have an inside spread of 13 inches or greater. A legal buck deer is defined as a buck deer with: at least one unbranched antler; OR an inside spread of 13 inches or greater (does not apply to a buck that has an unbranched antler)

but just wanted further clarification
Posted By: flintknapper

Re: Legal Deer - 12/21/19 03:27 PM

A strict reading of the A/R requirements would disqualify that buck.

In fact...that buck has a unique situation in that he doesn't qualify for any description of a legal buck...so he is 'home free' for this season. Lucky for him.
Posted By: Opening Day

Re: Legal Deer - 12/21/19 03:27 PM

There’s not one unbranded antler so I say no.

Re: Legal Deer - 12/21/19 03:30 PM

I appreciate it. That's why I came here and asked before just going and killing.

My buddys grandpa whos land this deer is on said this looks like the same deer that came around last year with only one set of antlers.. like they never grew back or something.
Posted By: tx_basser

Re: Legal Deer - 12/21/19 06:58 PM

I would say yes, as he has an unbranched antler
Posted By: tophorsecop

Re: Legal Deer - 12/21/19 08:04 PM