Texas Hunting Forum

Must haves for cleaning animals

Posted By: Toolguy15

Must haves for cleaning animals - 01/09/19 10:18 PM

OK gentleman fresh newbie here so be gentle !!!!!! laugh
What is in your bag???? What are your must haves for cleaning animals DEER HOGS.... ect thanks
Posted By: dlrz71

Re: Must haves for cleaning animals - 01/09/19 10:22 PM

Gloves, a sharp knife and wipes. I will usually have a water bottle or two as well. I did recently purchase an outdoor edge razor pro and flip and zip. Made the pelvis cut really easy and the knife is just like a havalon with the razor blades.
Posted By: Cast

Re: Must haves for cleaning animals - 01/09/19 10:31 PM

If you plan to debone it get a Schrade 150T. It’s called a Sharpfinger.
Posted By: Jimbo1

Re: Must haves for cleaning animals - 01/09/19 10:32 PM

Sharp knife, latex/rubber gloves, water, and I use a small tree lopper to cut through the rib cage and pelvis. Easy breezy!
Posted By: Dalee7892

Re: Must haves for cleaning animals - 01/09/19 10:40 PM

I also carry a stone to touch up the knife.
Posted By: Slow Drifter

Re: Must haves for cleaning animals - 01/09/19 10:58 PM

For just field dressing I just carry a knife, rubber gloves, a couple clean rags, and maybe a bottle of water or two. I prefer the blue Nytryl (spelling?) gloves to the White/clear plain exam gloves. The Nytryl gloves don't blow out putting them on near as often as the others.
Posted By: PMK

Re: Must haves for cleaning animals - 01/09/19 11:01 PM

the first 40+ years, merely a good sharp knife for gutting. Usually had another knife or two for skinning and then hit those on a whet rock a few times before deboning.