Texas Hunting Forum

New to this!

Posted By: brianaustintx

New to this! - 08/29/18 09:18 PM

Long story short...I recently purchased 5ac in Brewster County about 60mi above Big Bend. I became friends with the land seller, and currently have access to a 85, 40, and 20ac tracts. I can hunt, bait, scout, etc the properties to my liking.

But, like I said I am quite new to this. With me not knowing much about these tracts, where should I start? Should I just put cams up on any sign that I see or promising area that I find? Or, would it be better to just start with bait, maybe put up a feeder, and see if you can attract anything...hopefully mulies. I saw two on the 4-mi drive to my property, so I know they exist in the area for sure. Also, would you just put up deer corn for mulies? Or do you guys give more variety, like alfalfa?

Thanks for any/all help!
Posted By: Erathkid

Re: New to this! - 08/29/18 09:20 PM

Look for water sources.
Posted By: PMK

Re: New to this! - 08/29/18 11:12 PM

water sources would be crucial or at least a path to/from a water source. build a pen out of hog panels (not sure if hogs are in that area yet?), put up a feeder with corn, tossing twice a day at 1 second and toss out a bail of alfalfa with a game cam or two (different angles) and see what shows up.
Posted By: rickym

Re: New to this! - 08/29/18 11:53 PM

Scatter a sack of corn in an area you see some sign and put up a camera.
Posted By: SapperTitan

Re: New to this! - 08/29/18 11:55 PM

Find the properties on google maps. Look over the properties for water sources, or other terrain features that look like it would hold animals. Mark a few locations and then go put out some cams and corn. Leave cams for a week or so and then see if they are getting activity.
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: New to this! - 08/30/18 12:06 AM