Texas Hunting Forum

Game camera mounting

Posted By: ChanceHuiet

Game camera mounting - 11/29/17 03:20 AM

How is everyone mounting their cameras? I've got one of mine on a small mesquite about the size of a man's thigh with the top cut out and I'm getting way to many pictures of nothing. I have the camera sensitivity turned to low and it doesn't seem like the Bush moves around much by hand but apparently it does. I'm assuming I need to move it to a t-post to limit the pics of nothing but landscape? Anyone have any other tricks. This is my first year using a trail cam so don't kill me to bad.
Posted By: dlrz71

Re: Game camera mounting - 11/29/17 03:23 AM

Any cattle on the place?
Posted By: ChanceHuiet

Re: Game camera mounting - 11/29/17 03:24 AM

Cattle and sheep yes. Not many cows but tons of sheep
Posted By: dlrz71

Re: Game camera mounting - 11/29/17 03:37 AM

I've done 2 different setups. First we took landscape timbers from Home Depot and cut them down and cemented into 5 gallong buckets which worked for the most part but the cows would occasionally knock them over.

Now I have gone to T-posts with brackets from Tractor Supply mounted with cut timbers attached to the brackets.
Posted By: Mr. T.

Re: Game camera mounting - 11/29/17 01:21 PM

I use this from academy. can place my camera any place and I'm not dependent on trees or t-post on fence lines.
https://www.academy.com/shop/pdp/allen-company%E2%84%A2-anywhere-trail-camera-holder#repChildCatid=3622567
Posted By: DH3

Re: Game camera mounting - 11/29/17 01:36 PM

I have 5 cameras
1.On corner post of feed pen (steel pipe)
2.On opposite corner of feed pen
3.On Blackbrush trunk with limbs cleared away for good picture of feeder.
4.On coon cage at feeder.
5.On T-Post
Easiest was T-Post..Someone is selling a mount to put on T-Posts. In my view, a waste of money, just strap the camera on with the supplied strap and you are good to go.
Posted By: KnoxCityNate

Re: Game camera mounting - 11/29/17 02:04 PM