Texas Hunting Forum

whay are you still shooting young bucks?

Posted By: Buzzsaw

whay are you still shooting young bucks? - 07/20/17 01:46 PM

I hunted with a guy who would NEVER shoot a doe.

His wife would NOT let him put a mounted deer in the house, so his antlers go in a box in the garage.

So why do hunters kill nice, young, bucks instead of the tasty doe standing next to him????? Just to go chunk the antlers in the garage?

Youths killing one is ok cuz they haven't done it much so anything is a "trophy"

IMO, if you shoot a buck, you owe it to the animal to at least do a skull mount, be proud and thankful for this animal. Or thin the heard with a couple does. or if you don't eat it donate the meat. OR just go camping

Same with bobcats

I'm sure I'm posting this cuz I have been chasing these critters for 40 years. I do remember when I was young, if I didn't kill a buck, I felt tons of pressure to kill one, especially if someone else in camp have killed one. I guess getting older, its more fun to watch the animals than have to clean one, then go have a bourbon

I'm not telling anyone how or what to hunt, there is enough of this already

just my opinions deer2 or deer
Posted By: Texan Til I Die

Re: whay are you still shooting young bucks? - 07/20/17 02:04 PM

Why do people shoot young bucks? Probably because it is much easier than shooting an old one. Or they can't tell the difference.
Posted By: Russ79

Re: whay are you still shooting young bucks? - 07/20/17 02:19 PM

I know a lease manager that has a lease where the members are not allowed to shoot does- he claims that will improve the buck quality. I learned long ago that you can't reason someone out of what they don't reason themselves into.
Posted By: txtrophy85

Re: whay are you still shooting young bucks? - 07/20/17 02:22 PM

Originally Posted By: Texan Til I Die
Why do people shoot young bucks? Probably because it is much easier than shooting an old one. Or they can't tell the difference.