Texas Hunting Forum

Need help with this guy

Posted By: JH117

Need help with this guy - 11/07/14 03:10 AM

For starters, this is my first post and I am completely new to deer hunting. I live on a 100 acres in springtown and this is one of about 10 bucks hanging out here. As of late, he has almost completely stopped coming to the feeders. (probably because of all the acorns)Also, this guy is mostly nocturnal as you can see from the pics. I only have one pic of him during the day which was also about a month ago. My question is, when the rut goes in full swing what kind of call or scent would you recommend to help me bag this buck? How old do you think this deer is and what would he score? Once again I'm completely new to this and I would definitely like for this to be my first deer. Any advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.
Posted By: Trash Fish and Cull Bucks

Re: Need help with this guy - 11/07/14 03:17 AM

Looks 5.5 but could be 4.5, mid 40's on the score. Don't hunt the feeder, hust the area, but not the feeder (he's not coming in in the day anyway). Try rattling if the sex ratio is good in the area.
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: Need help with this guy - 11/07/14 03:17 AM

welcomecheers Be a great first buck so I would not worry about age or score. If he has not been killed in archery season or opening weekend of general I would kill him when you see him. Nothing wrong at all with that buck. Don't get all hung up on age and score. Hunting is about so much more than those things. Enjoy the hunt. up
Posted By: DQ Kid

Re: Need help with this guy - 11/07/14 03:19 AM

Nice buck, 5+, mid 130s. I'd try rattling and maybe even popping a Buck Bomb, you just never know..
Posted By: Jkd106

Re: Need help with this guy - 11/07/14 03:21 AM

Listen to Stx
Posted By: TonyinVA

Re: Need help with this guy - 11/07/14 03:23 AM

nice deer..kill him if you can and be thrilled about it. Good luck!
Posted By: S.A. hunter

Re: Need help with this guy - 11/07/14 03:24 AM