Texas Hunting Forum

thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold?

Posted By: NBH

thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/10/14 10:44 PM

what do you guys think? I am new to trying to age deer and just seeing if I am on the right track. Thanks

Posted By: stxranchman

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/10/14 11:28 PM

Looked older in some pics and a bit younger in the last pic. I would call him a 4yr old at least.
Posted By: Pitchfork Predator

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/10/14 11:38 PM

I would say 4.5 +
Posted By: 2012hvt

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 01:48 AM

At least 4 1/2
Posted By: ACKHNTR

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 01:53 AM

I say 5, here in a few weeks he's really going to start showing his age.

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 01:58 AM

he is #1 on my hit list. But I guess I really need to study up on the aging on the deer! Thanks for yalls input so far!
Posted By: Perfect 8

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 02:00 AM

At least 4.5 maybe more ... I agree his age will show about the time bow season opens and the hormones start to build.
Posted By: ACKHNTR

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 02:04 AM

That high rise ten in the background looks plenty mature also!

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 02:06 AM

I got more pics of him too but not any that are really good and clear
Posted By: BOBO the Clown

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 02:34 AM

Velvet deer are the hardest to age.

Keep your trail cam photos and give each buck a folder , then compare after they get closer to rut. Betting he is 4 though
Posted By: txshntr

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 03:18 AM

Originally Posted By: Perfect 8
At least 4.5 maybe more ... I agree his age will show about the time bow season opens and the hormones start to build.
Posted By: therancher

Re: thinking maybe a 3.5 yearold? - 09/11/14 03:36 AM

It is VERY hard to age deer on the hoof accurately.