Texas Hunting Forum

Young or old buck?

Posted By: ChadTRG42

Young or old buck? - 11/29/18 03:55 PM

We had this nice 8 in front of us for about 2 hours. My son wanted to shoot him really bad (for his first buck), but I told him to wait. I know we have bigger deer than this. I was showing these pics to a buddy, and he said this deer was older and needed to get shot. I though he was young. He was running around with a smaller 8 point, and the 2 bucks have been seen on camera together also. We passed on the deer, and I figured he'd be good in 1 to 2 years (hopefully!) This was the same hunt I shot the doe with my Glock. We were covered up in deer the whole hunt.

So, do we go back and shoot this deer as a good first buck for my 13 yr old, or let him walk to get bigger? (I'm not a deer expert on exact age and size, but I'm not 100% on this one)

[Linked Image]

[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]

Posted By: DQ Kid

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 03:56 PM

Middle age, 4.5-5+
Posted By: FamousAmos

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 04:02 PM

3.5 is my guess.
Posted By: kmon11

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 04:05 PM

Originally Posted by DQ Kid
Middle age, 4.5-5+

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 04:07 PM

So, should we have shot him??
Posted By: NMGW

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 04:07 PM

Middle age, 4.5-5+

Yep X2 probably as good as he is going to get. I would let your son take him. 2cents
Posted By: TexasKC

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 04:09 PM

I'm thinking 5.5
Posted By: unclebubba

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 04:19 PM

Originally Posted by ChadTRG42
So, should we have shot him??

Mature, but not old. Yes he very well could be better next year. Should you have taken him? That is personal preference. If it were me and my boy, I would have let him take him for a first buck. He'll make a fine first Buck!
Posted By: HuntnFly67

Re: Young or old deer? - 11/29/18 04:25 PM

Originally Posted by NMGW
Middle age, 4.5-5+