Texas Hunting Forum

Deer Lease Electrical help

Posted By: Old Smuggler

Deer Lease Electrical help - 05/21/21 08:49 PM

Hoping the brain trust of the forum can help. On a new lease this year that we will need to set up plugs for the RV's. The owner is getting a meter dropped on a utility pole and I need to set up a RV 30 amp plug anywhere from 100-200 feet away. Will have a 30amp breaker in the box and I want to bury the cable so wondering what size wire to I need for this run? have a small knowledge of electrical work; put in a breaker, hook up a plug but do not know about wire size and voltage drop. Of course with the increased cost of materials I do want to be as economical as possible. Appreciate any help you can give.
Posted By: SlaminEm

Re: Deer Lease Electrical help - 05/21/21 09:09 PM

a 10-2 will work it should be a 30 amp 110. i am a licensed electrician. hope this will help

Re: Deer Lease Electrical help - 05/21/21 09:32 PM

This helps. Appreciate the info.
Posted By: DLALLDER

Re: Deer Lease Electrical help - 05/21/21 09:57 PM

If you are in an area with gophers & moles, might want to think about putting the 10-2 in 1/2 inch PVC. They will eat thru the wire but for some reason will not bother the PVC.
Posted By: flintknapper

Re: Deer Lease Electrical help - 05/22/21 01:56 AM

I'm retired from the RV business/industry.

IF you are going to wire the receptacle yourself make SURE you get the right one and wire it correctly. I can't tell you number of 'fried' RV's we repaired over the years.

DON'T make this mistake:

https://www.myrv.us/Imgs/PDF/30-amp%20Service.pdf

Everything with a circuit board ruined.

And I strongly disagree with 10/2 wire for such a long run.
Posted By: glocker17

Re: Deer Lease Electrical help - 05/22/21 03:43 AM

I went with 4ga wire in PVC for a 75ft run. Cant hurt to go a little bigger.
Posted By: Mike Honcho

Re: Deer Lease Electrical help - 05/22/21 04:19 AM