Texas Hunting Forum

Late Desert Cow Elk

Posted By: Blank

Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 03:10 AM

My wife was afraid the poor grandkids were going to starve, so she had me sally forth to slay the elusive cow elk out on the desert. Ten miles, uphill both ways, snow to my butt, and six foot tall sagebrush. Found them in another zip code, made a great approach and stalk, and they were still a LONG ways out there. The 300 RUM will reach out and do its job, if you let it bark. Had to take a picture, with my DR. Death hat for the boys. Long standing joke, I've been wearing this hat since 1982!!

[Linked Image]
Posted By: procraft05

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 03:15 AM

Congrats!
Posted By: dogcatcher

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 03:27 AM

Congrats!
Posted By: kmon1

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 04:55 AM

Congrats, some good eating there.
Posted By: JB1316

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 04:59 AM

Awesome

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 05:13 AM

I was shocked, as this may be the biggest cow I have ever killed. I know she was bigger than the last two bulls I shot out there. She has been eating in my friends alfalfa all year, and should be wonderful table fare!! I think this is elk # 29 or 30, in 42 years so I've had a pretty good run.
Posted By: leswad

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 05:19 AM

grill
Posted By: redhaze

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 10:30 AM

cool
Posted By: Mr. T.

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 02:16 PM

Very nice.........I think that is the way I walked to school and back every day.
Posted By: spacejunkie

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 02:46 PM

cheers
Posted By: Gringo Bling

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 02:48 PM

Congrats on a nice late season harvest. Hope you had help packing her out.
Posted By: TPACK

Re: Late Desert Cow Elk - 01/22/21 02:54 PM

Originally Posted by Blank