Texas Hunting Forum

Long term commitment

Posted By: don k

Long term commitment - 06/14/20 06:12 PM

I was reading earlier on here about trying to improve the deer herd. Removing the genetics you don't want and keeping the ones you want to improve the herd. It was stated that it is a long term commitment to do this properly. I know for a fact that is very true. What I am going to say and show is not about WT but about Ibex. The difference in the animals does not matter because the same principles of how to better or change the genetics can be applied to any animal. I have been raising Ibex for well over 20 years. The first Ibex I got actually came through the auction ring in Uvalde. I have not idea how or who brought them. They were more of a Persian type Ibex. A darker color and different type horn than the Nubian has. I started buying Spanish goat females that sort of looked like Ibex. Then 12 years ago I saw that Nubian Ibex were bring quite a bit more money than the type of Ibex I was raising. So I bought a Nubian Ibex male. I bred him to my females and every year I sold off the older females and kept the young ones. Every 3 years I bought another pure bred Nubian Ibex male and sold the older one. I have been doing this every year for the past 12. Keeping the young females and selling the oldest ones. If I have 10 females born I will sell 10 old females. I realize this would be hard to do with WT. But to me it is the only way to really change what you have to what you want. Get rid of the WT bucks you don't want and keep the ones you want to breed. Shoot the oldest does every year and keep the younger ones. Here are some pictures of what I started with and what I have now. [Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
[Linked Image]
Starting at the top is what I had and going down is what I have now.
Posted By: redhaze

Re: Long term commitment - 06/14/20 06:26 PM

cool
Posted By: dogcatcher

Re: Long term commitment - 06/14/20 07:00 PM

up