Texas Hunting Forum

Awesome Camera Purchase - Link S

Posted By: noose

Awesome Camera Purchase - Link S - 12/11/19 01:03 PM

I have been using regular cameras for a few years now and it's always the same... take new cards in, swap them out, bring the new ones home and look at the images. If I don't like the angles or timing, or whatever, I have to wait until my next outing to adjust.

I decided to bite the bullet and get a cellular camera. I got a spypoint Link S for $100, installed lithiums as recommended, and placed it at my property. I can't believe I didn't do this sooner!

I currently have it set to take way too many pictures but the first month is unlimited and I'm trying to get a feel for how many/how little I'm willing to pay for. Images, even though compressed, are still plenty high enough quality to know what I'm looking at. Requesting an HD version of the image over the air is $0.10 extra. Right now, it's like crack. I can't get enough and every time I get a text message telling me there are new photos I stop what I'm doing to look.

If you haven't tried one of these little gems, I'd highly recommend it. All the settings for the camera are done in the app. It still uses an SD card to save 10MP images but I haven't looked at those yet so I can't vouch for the quality of those but here's a couple of images. The first is a compressed day and the second is the same image requested as "full HD". It usually takes about 2-3 hours to get the full HD as it sends it out in bits with each data send.

If you have any questions about this camera, let me know and I'll try to answer. Note that I used a cellular tower map to determine the signal strength where my place is. It comes in two versions: verizon and "universal". There is an AT&T tower much closer so I went that route and have 3 bars of signal. My verizon phone has trouble out there so at least I got this part right. They make some kind of extra antenna for better gain but I don't seem to need it.