Texas Hunting Forum

Transporting a deer cape/head for mounting

Posted By: Bobby Hill

Transporting a deer cape/head for mounting - 10/23/19 06:20 PM

Tried researching online and was having trouble finding a clear answer. So i've been hunting for a few years now but have never been blessed with a buck that i would classify as a wall hanger. I got on a new lease this year and have a few solid deer that seem to be hanging around quite a bit. God willing i get a shot at one of these guys i would like to be ready. I'm very comfortable with skinning and caping a deer up to the neck, but not the full head. Researching online, it seems like the consensus it to either take the whole deer to the taxidermist and let them cape it for you, or buy one of those fancy trophy coolers with the holes in the top. Ive heard of people use Styrofoam coolers as well but im not sold on that idea. The processor i plan to use is a good two hours from my lease and i really dont want to waste half a day to drive back and fourth from the lease. I know to keep your cape as dry and cool as possible, but would it be a big deal to just place the cape and head in a plastic bag, put in cooler, and just put ice around the bag for a few days? How long would this method be good for? At max i would have to use this method for 2 days until the weekend is over and i come home and have access to a freezer.
Posted By: fouzman

Re: Transporting a deer cape/head for mounting - 10/23/19 06:27 PM

Your method will work, but don't use a plastic bag. Use something that will breathe. I've used corn sacks, burlap sacks and old pillow cases before. Being in ice for two days is not ideal, and his cape's going to get wet, but he will be fine. Cold is the key. The taxi will just have to double salt him before sending to the tannery due to the wet cape.
Posted By: Dalee7892

Re: Transporting a deer cape/head for mounting - 10/23/19 06:32 PM