Texas Hunting Forum

First BowkillS

Posted By: PoppinPiggies

First BowkillS - 10/08/18 03:42 PM

Last year I was forced to start bowhunting since my uncle's ranch where I primarily hunt was made to be bow only in regards to deer. So reluctantly I started shooting at targets and despite sitting in the stand almost every weekend last season I never had the opportunity to sling an arrow at a shooter buck. I did have a pig in range once but when I drew back my chair squeaked and it took off. Another time, frustrated at my lack of bloodshed with the bow, I slung an arrow at and almost hit a mallard duck (I was getting desperate). After deer season I went back to popping piggies with guns like I always do but at on Friday I FINALLY got a chance to let an arrow fly. I was hunting a stand we call the Cactus Patch that sits on the side of a hill.