Texas Hunting Forum

Novice hunter new to TX, looking for guidance/to tag along this season

Posted By: AustinNovice

Novice hunter new to TX, looking for guidance/to tag along this season - 10/15/15 09:35 PM

Hey everyone,

I grew up in Philadelphia, moved to Austin a year ago for grad school. I have plenty of experience flyfishing and backcountry camping, and I'm a good archer, but I've never been hunting in my life. I recently upgraded my archery gear (Mission Hype), got my Texas hunting license and deer tags, and am ready to get out there-- but taking an animal is something I want to do for the first time with an experienced hunter who can talk me through their process. I'm confident in my archery and shooting abilities, but I'm well aware that reading how to hunt and field dress doesn't prepare you to do it in real life any more than watching the NFL teaches you how to play football.

I'm looking for someone/a group of people who I could tag along with on a hunt somewhere in central TX, who wouldn't mind me asking them questions and watching how they work. I'd be happy to pay for food, lodging, or ammo, and I'll pull my weight around camp. Not looking to freeload at all.

The alternative is to go out with an outfitter for a weekend, which looks to be ~$1000 for a meat hunt, and I can't swing that at the moment.

Thanks, appreciate any tips or comments.
Posted By: 1860.colt

Re: Novice hunter new to TX, looking for guidance/to tag along this season - 10/15/15 10:46 PM