Texas Hunting Forum

Advice needed for Kansas muzzleloader hunt

Posted By: Apretz

Advice needed for Kansas muzzleloader hunt - 09/06/15 02:48 PM

So I'm new to muzzleloaders and coming up on the 14th I'll be up on northwest Kansas with a whitetail tag. I'm shooting an inline and my question is whether or not I should use a scope or open sights? Any advise or imo's would be great.
Posted By: kry226

Re: Advice needed for Kansas muzzleloader hunt - 09/06/15 03:53 PM

Absolutely use a scope. That's wide open country and your shots are likely to be long. Heck, I'd even use a scope in East Texas.
Posted By: stxranchman

Re: Advice needed for Kansas muzzleloader hunt - 09/06/15 04:10 PM

I am hunting Units 1 and 2 again this year. Very open country. WT numbers were down due to drought for a couple of years and I was told numbers are up(but lot of young deer). Rained more this year than last year(5" total last year and 14"+ this year) so far but no rain in last 45-60 days.
This is what the "cover" in pasture land looks like. Lot of CRP land in some areas. Weeds and grass are very tall this year I was told. Throw in pivots of corn and tons of dryland milo and it is a fun hunt. Deer moved very early and very late last year. By late/early I mean 30 minutes at best of good hunting time in the evenings and an hour in the mornings.

Re: Advice needed for Kansas muzzleloader hunt - 09/06/15 04:59 PM

Thanks kry. Getting it zeroed in today.

Thanks for the advise stx. I'm also in units 1 and 2. I've never hunted that part of the country but always wanted to. I put in for a mule deer but ended up with a whitetail tag. Good luck to you!

Re: Advice needed for Kansas muzzleloader hunt - 09/06/15 08:59 PM