Texas Hunting Forum

San Diego, Tx

Posted By: chevydude

San Diego, Tx - 01/05/12 10:04 PM

Hello everyone,
i am fairly new to hunting , but have been visiting this website for a long time. My dad , bro and I have access to hunting a small ranch in san diego, tx. We have been out there about four or five times this season and have yet to see any deer. Tracks are abundant with hogs, bobcats, some deer.
i read all these posts about you guys that see plenty of action where yall hunt. lots of you pass on what you see to wait on what you want. meanwhile, i cant wait for the time i get to even see anything. this area seems to get talked bad about regarding the deer pop. can someone explain to me why its bad? we have feeders and game cams and see a doe or two here and there but no mass amount of deer.

any feedback, tips etc is appreciated.

Re: San Diego, Tx - 01/05/12 10:05 PM

Btw, we dont pay to hunt there. family of ours is nice enough to let us use their property.

Posted By: nado2036

Re: San Diego, Tx - 01/05/12 10:17 PM

Used to have 350 acres in San Diego we had alot of deer on our place. One thing that we noticed is the that if you hunt there on a full moon you are not going to see much.

Posted By: KennyLee

Re: San Diego, Tx - 01/05/12 10:19 PM

Every place is different, bit it will also likely change. I'm not familiar at all with your area, so I can't speak to it specifically.

That being said, be patient and keep at it. There are deer in your area, so you just need to attract them to your land. The best way to do that is to make your property more appealing than your neighbors.

10 years ago I didn't see many deer on my place, much less bucks. Today, I could drive out to my place and at least find some does within an hour or so. Some of the things I did:

1. Started feeding year round. Corn mostly, but put out minerals as well.
2. Limited my harvest (a leasor had shot everything that moved for a few years hurting the herd. I'll never lease it out again)