Texas Hunting Forum

sourdough starter?

Posted By: PMK

sourdough starter? - 04/12/23 08:48 PM

Sourdough bread starter???

My wife got a starter from a close friend in Mississippi that we just fed on Monday. I am a bit confused on how to proceed. The recipe states to feed and take out 1 cup after letting it set for 8-12 hours in 80-85° and return the starter to the fridge. it states that if you do not wish to make bread, either throw away the 1 cup or give to a friend. We are now at Wed. and if I want to make bread, do I need to remove starter from fridge, feed and let set for another 8-12 hours OR can I just pull 1 cup out of the starter from the fridge??? This is my first attempt on bread ... and I am thoroughly confused on where/how to use the starter.

help!
Posted By: Gringo Bling

Re: sourdough starter? - 04/12/23 09:01 PM

Why not ask the woman who gave you the starter?

Re: sourdough starter? - 04/12/23 09:45 PM

Originally Posted by Gringo Bling
Why not ask the woman who gave you the starter?

90+ year old friend of a friend of a friend's grandmother in Mississippi ... and our friend is in New Zealand with her husband for over a month vacationing & red stag hunting ... I guess I could wait until they return, just wanted to get things rolling partyon555

we have a written out recipe with directions regarding feeding starter, making dough, forming to loaf or rolls ... just not clear on where in the process to get going with when to use the starter for sure.
Posted By: kmon11

Re: sourdough starter? - 04/13/23 03:32 AM

Not sure if this helps or not, wife said check out King Arthur. Saw this link and it does getting your starter going and feeding it.

https://www.kingarthurbaking.com/recipes/feeding-and-maintaining-your-sourdough-starter-recipe

Re: sourdough starter? - 04/13/23 04:08 PM