Texas Hunting Forum

Sausage Makin' - better late than never!

Posted By: pertnear

Sausage Makin' - better late than never! - 04/10/23 01:37 PM

Usually my brother & I get together in Jan or Feb & pool all of our deer trim & make sausage. The cooler weather makes for better smoking. This year "life got in the way" for both of us so I finally just did it myself this week. It was only 65 rings of which most will now begin the drying process!

[Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image] [Linked Image]

BTW, a new trick I learned. I always hate that I can't get that last bit of meat out of the grinder or stuffer. We don't eat the heel-slice of bread around my house, so at the end, I put a few slices in the grinder to push that last bit of meat out. Same with the stuffer. banana

Posted By: redchevy

Re: Sausage Makin' - better late than never! - 04/10/23 01:51 PM

Since I graduated we have always made sausage late lol. Good window unit I. The smokehouse helps out.

Looking good.
Posted By: Hudbone

Re: Sausage Makin' - better late than never! - 04/10/23 02:08 PM

It is looking good!
Posted By: greenen

Re: Sausage Makin' - better late than never! - 04/10/23 03:10 PM

Nice.
Posted By: Gringo Bling

Re: Sausage Makin' - better late than never! - 04/10/23 03:28 PM

Looks awesome.
Posted By: Andrewhunter08

Re: Sausage Makin' - better late than never! - 04/10/23 03:29 PM

I really like your smoker. What are your design measurements for the top part?
We processed 8 deer in the garage this year and need to build a smoker. Trying to cold smoke on an offset brisket smoker proved very time consuming.

We like to use rice if we don't have bread to purge the grinder at the end. It reminds me of the old style boudin we had as kids. We had axis kielbasa in our Święconka this year!

Re: Sausage Makin' - better late than never! - 04/10/23 04:32 PM

Originally Posted by Andrewhunter08
I really like your smoker. What are your design measurements for the top part?