Texas Hunting Forum

Makin Bacon

Posted By: pegasaurus

Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 02:20 AM

Decided to dip my toe into the bacon pool.
This is my first attempt.
Divided up a 7# belly
#1 is plain
#2 is maple and brown sugar
#3 is black pepper
Now the waiting begins. They have to sit in the fridge for the next 10 days.

[Linked Image]
Posted By: Bullfrog

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 02:48 AM

Gonna be a loooooong 10 days! Very cool up
Posted By: Blank

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 03:04 AM

Kinda like making your own pastrami. The end justifies the wait tho.
Posted By: SnakeWrangler

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 03:25 AM

Watching......
Posted By: dogcatcher

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 04:22 AM

Originally Posted by SnakeWrangler
Watching......

X2
Posted By: bill oxner

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 11:34 AM

My daddy always waited until hog killing time.
Posted By: texfork

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 11:44 AM

Your patience will be rewarded and you will never want grocery store bacon again . Looking forward to the finished product .
Posted By: SnakeWrangler

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 11:59 AM

I really want to try this and homemade sauerkraut....

Re: Makin Bacon - 09/07/20 01:54 PM

[align:left][/align]
Originally Posted by bill oxner

Here you go.

https://www.statesboroherald.com/life/its-hog-killing-weather/

“It’s hog-killin' weather.” That once was a common way to describe a time of sharply, persistently cold weather. That sort of weather is now uncommon and the descriptor even more so. During the decades when farm families depended on that which was provided by their fields, flocks and the natural environment, the sentence made perfect sense. Harvesting their hogs for meat and lard to last most of the year required cold weather and hard labor.

Cold weather was necessary to keep meat from spoiling. Lacking electricity for refrigeration and storage, people relied on January’s arctic blasts. Man-handling the hogs' carcasses of 200 to 300 pounds meant hard labor.