Texas Hunting Forum

Field Dressing/Processing

Posted By: mikereiling5

Field Dressing/Processing - 12/19/18 06:36 PM

Let me preface this post by saying I am a 29 year old beginner, as stated in other posts. But I am wondering what the difference is and what most people do when they are harvesting animals.
I have read articles where cleaning a pig or deer correctly is tough, especially the packaging the part. What can I expect and what is the best way to learn?
Posted By: Roll-Tide

Re: Field Dressing/Processing - 12/19/18 06:52 PM

You tube.

Cleaning a deer is not difficult. Take your time. A few different methods out there. Find one that works for you. There are the guys who try to impress you with how fast they can do it. I just take my time, I am no expert.

I don’t gut hogs anymore. They’re nasty.
Posted By: Creekrunner

Re: Field Dressing/Processing - 12/19/18 07:06 PM

Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
Take your time.

Most important. Take into account, you're gonna be excited. After slicing my thumb wide open and barely missing the tendon, a couple of years ago, (and I've cleaned a lot of deer) I was telling the processor that with the heat, it was July on an Axis, I just got in a hurry. He responded, "Yep, we call that 'Hurry up and die.'"
Posted By: redchevy

Re: Field Dressing/Processing - 12/19/18 07:11 PM

Like above, there are some good videos on youtube on the full process of field dressing skinning quartering deboning and processing deer/hogs.

Have fun and be careful. The first step in a good field dressing/processing experience is a cleanly killed animal. Practice shooting and study where to place your shot. Then follow the videos on youtube whichever one you prefer.
Posted By: PMK

Re: Field Dressing/Processing - 12/19/18 10:44 PM

as others stated, YouTube is your friend and take your time.

basic field dressing from TPWD video ...

another video that explains what he's doing and why ...
Posted By: TruckMan66