Texas Hunting Forum

Myth or real?

Posted By: Nick1

Myth or real? - 05/16/20 12:10 AM

Been thinking of getting a lab. I’m not an expert bird hunter and have never owned a lab. I do dove hunt. I love the chocolate lab look. My brother in law on the other hand is an avid duck hunter and swears only by black labs for hunting. He says yellows are ok too, but stay away from chocolate labs for hunting. If I do get one I’d like to train to retrieve, but will mostly be a family dog. Anyone verify his claims? I wanted to reach out to real hunters w experience instead of googling this info. Thanks in advance.
Posted By: bill oxner

Re: Myth or real? - 05/16/20 12:21 AM

Follow your heart not your head.

Re: Myth or real? - 05/16/20 12:37 AM

Originally Posted by bill oxner
Follow your heart not your head.

Will do Bill. Mainly just curious as to what others may have experienced w chocolate labs as retrievers. I wouldn’t think it matters what color.
Posted By: Cast

Re: Myth or real? - 05/16/20 04:23 PM

Libby was a big chocolate Lab and she would definitely retrieve a ball. Smart as a whip too.
Posted By: rickym

Re: Myth or real? - 05/16/20 07:34 PM

Chocolates are fine, I’d look for good genetics and train the pup well!
Posted By: 68rustbucket

Re: Myth or real? - 05/16/20 08:01 PM

It’s all about the genetics. Even then it’s a crap shoot, applies to getting any pup, not just a chocolate lab.

If you want one, then get one.
Posted By: KWood_TSU

Re: Myth or real? - 05/17/20 01:45 AM

You definitely need to ask your brother in law about a silver lab. I bet he'd go super triggered! Lol
Posted By: Smokey Bear

Re: Myth or real? - 05/17/20 01:50 AM