Texas Hunting Forum

HR Club in Belton/Temple area

Posted By: hunting_guy

HR Club in Belton/Temple area - 11/23/15 08:46 PM

Are there any HR clubs in the immediate area of Belton/Temple/Waco?

Thanks again!
Posted By: Sweese

Re: HR Club in Belton/Temple area - 11/23/15 11:23 PM

For UKC HRC clubs search

www.huntingretrieverclub.org

For AKC HRC clubs search here

https://www.apps.akc.org//apps/clubs/search/index.cfm

Re: HR Club in Belton/Temple area - 11/23/15 11:43 PM

Thanks Jay. Looks like the nearest club to me is Bryan/College Station and the soonest event is in March. I got the contact information on there, so I guess I'll get my dog signed up and attend that one for his started. He'll be 10 months at that point, I'm fairly confident he could pass that as it stands right now. Can you run them in multiple tests at the same event if they pass the prerequisite or do I need to wait for another event?

Again, I'm new to all this so I appreciate the info
Posted By: Sweese

Re: HR Club in Belton/Temple area - 11/24/15 04:04 AM

There is no prerequisite on levels. I have started a number of dogs in HRC seasoned from the get-go. You generally will need one more pass when you don't work your way through the levels. Started tests are very straightforward. They include two single retrieves on land and two on water. Dog must deliver within reach. All of this can be found in the HRC rulebook at the HRC website.

Most clubs have two separate hunts per weekend, so on a good weekend you can earn two passes. That can be at the same level or two different levels. For example, you could run started at one test, finish your SHR title and then run seasoned at the test the following day, or go from seasoned to finished. However, you cannot run two different levels at the test on the same day. Grab the rulebook off of the website. It covers the point system and what is expected at each level.