Texas Hunting Forum

How to Replace Cracked Sliding Window in Blind

Posted By: Dave Roach

How to Replace Cracked Sliding Window in Blind - 01/02/18 03:12 PM

While hunting this past weekend, I was running a buddy heated in my T-Box blind and the temperature change caused one of the frozen sliding windows in the blind to develop a crack. I need to replace the glass before it breaks out and the owls take over the blind as their own.

Can anyone help walk me through how to replace the glass? I couldn't figure out how to remove the glass from the frame for the life of me (I have no experience in working on windows). The entire window appears to be set into the fiberglass, with the individual glass panes set in an aluminum frame which slides on tracks within the larger window frame.

Posted By: Roll-Tide

Re: How to Replace Cracked Sliding Window in Blind - 01/02/18 04:43 PM

First off. I have no idea. But could clear nail polish work......as a temp fix...
Posted By: YellowDog

Re: How to Replace Cracked Sliding Window in Blind - 01/02/18 04:45 PM

Superglue and clear packing tape works good Man you hunt some flat ground...
Posted By: Dalee7892

Re: How to Replace Cracked Sliding Window in Blind - 01/02/18 05:31 PM

You might have to take the window slider out, block opening with plywood, take to a place that can replace the glass. Usually the glass is installed into a rubber gasket and then pushed into the aluminum frame, have to be very careful glass breaks and cuts.

Re: How to Replace Cracked Sliding Window in Blind - 01/02/18 05:55 PM

YellowDog- What do you mean? There's a hill a mere 3 miles East of my spot. laugh

Dalee- That was my thinking also, but I don't see how the slider comes out of the frame. There doesn't appear to be a way to pull it up and out.
Posted By: ijohnston

Re: How to Replace Cracked Sliding Window in Blind - 01/02/18 06:28 PM