Texas Hunting Forum

Boattail or flat base bullets

Posted By: sbushee

Boattail or flat base bullets - 05/27/20 01:32 AM

Saw an interesting article today while waiting to get my haircut discussing bullets. It found that flat base bullets were more consistent from an accuracy standpoint than boattails. I’m fairly new to reloading and just assumed boattails were better. What has been the experience for you guys with some time doing this?

Thanks!
Shawn
Posted By: wp75169

Re: Boattail or flat base bullets - 05/27/20 01:55 AM

Boattails are designed to have a better BC. I have saw good accuracy from both and couldn’t say that one is superior.
Posted By: DStroud

Re: Boattail or flat base bullets - 05/27/20 03:15 AM

Flat based bullets are supposed to be much easier to manufacture with maximum consistency versus boat tail.
I know short range Bench rest shooters favor flat based bullets but both designs can be made very accurate.
Posted By: J.G.

Re: Boattail or flat base bullets - 05/27/20 11:01 AM

Too broad of a statement. As DStroud mentioned, short range Bench Rest, they are favored. But, the boattail is going to be very helpful when the distance is increased. Higher BC holds more speed down range, and wind drifts less. Every time I top a personal record, at various distances, it is with a Boattail bullet.

One example here. SMKs are Boattail bullets.

.115 MOA

[Linked Image]
Posted By: kry226

Re: Boattail or flat base bullets - 05/27/20 12:05 PM

I love the boattails for the simple fact that they're easier to load. I'm probably not accurate enough to observe any difference between the two.
Posted By: pertnear

Re: Boattail or flat base bullets - 05/27/20 12:25 PM