Texas Hunting Forum

Seat/Crimp

Posted By: rawToes

Seat/Crimp - 01/23/18 02:34 PM

I couldn't find any Lee 300BLK dies around, so I got Hornady. How in the HELL do you adjust a seating die to seat and crimp in one pull? I followed the instructions several times and always end up with either a seated bullet and no crimp (bullet creeps forward (longer) in the case when AR slams it into chamber) or I crush the damn case during seating. I've been reloading for several years, but have always used the Lee factory crimp die. With the Hornady die I can get a crimp OR I can seat a bullet. If I have to make 2 passes, I might as well use the FCD. I have one on the way from MidwayUSA, so long term I'm good. I'd still like to figure this out.

For the record here's what I did:

1. Ram up w/ cartridge in shell holder.
2. Screw down die until resistance.
3. Back out die 1 turn to prevent crimp.
4. Adjust seating knob to get correct depth.
5. Back out seating knob 2 turns.
6. Screw die in 1 turn, then in small increments to get crimp.
7. Screw seating knob back in 2 turns + final adjustment.
8. Lock it all in place.

Where is the black magic that I'm missing?
Posted By: redchevy

Re: Seat/Crimp - 01/23/18 02:46 PM

I would start with your step 6, unless your full turn in doesn’t crimp any I would increase in smaller increments. Also I would turn the seating stem out more than 2 turns. The die body has a much coarser thread you don’t want the seater coming into contact with the bullet while adjusting your crimp
Posted By: ChadTRG42

Re: Seat/Crimp - 01/23/18 02:53 PM