Texas Hunting Forum

Hornady SST 130 gr & case problem

Posted By: TxYoteHunter

Hornady SST 130 gr & case problem - 02/25/14 07:43 AM

Loading for .270 Winchester. Books call for case length to be 2.530. When the bullet is put into the brass and I try to set it at AOL of 3.180, the brass hits in the center of the groove and it slips to 3.125-3.155 or so and has some play in and out. Can NOT get the darn things to set at the right length to save my life. I've even tried using the Lee factory crimp die once I get it close and same thing. Any one else running into this problem? I'm looking for suggestions. Forgot to mention I'm really new at hand loading. Considered longer or shorter case lengths but I don't know what problems that would cause.
Posted By: kmon11

Re: Hornady SST 130 gr & case problem - 02/25/14 11:54 AM

Sounds like not enough neck tension, were the cases full length sized with the shell holder making full contact with the resizing die? The inside of the case neck should measure .274 to .275 after resizing. Also check the bullets, they should be .277 inches.

crimp should not be necessary with the 270.
Posted By: papa45

Re: Hornady SST 130 gr & case problem - 02/25/14 01:31 PM

Agree with kmon1. I have loaded .270 many times with the case mouth stopping at/near/in the middle of the cannelure.
Posted By: ChadTRG42

Re: Hornady SST 130 gr & case problem - 02/25/14 01:58 PM

I'm sorry, I'm not even sure I understand your issue. Try backing your seating die out some and working the bullet deeper one stroke at a time. If you have the die set too deep, it can be making contact with the shoulder, and messing up your case. Also, don't bother with a crimp. If the case is sized correctly, then it should have enough neck tension to not need a crimp.
Posted By: jdk1985

Re: Hornady SST 130 gr & case problem - 02/25/14 02:28 PM

I wonder if you have tried to seat a bullet too many times in the same case without resizing the neck?