Texas Hunting Forum

Crossbow Question

Posted By: TXHOGSLAYER

Crossbow Question - 09/19/21 01:13 AM

So you get to your stand, you [censored] the bow, put your bolt in and you’re ready to go. The question is, if you plan on hanging up the bow in your stand and leaving it overnight, does it damage the bow in any way to leave it cocked?
Posted By: freerange

Re: Crossbow Question - 09/19/21 01:54 AM

I would not leave mine overnight nor would I leave it cocked that long. But I’m new to xbows and others can answer better. Kmon I’m sure will answer and is always smart about any bows. I did a little research last year and it seems you shouldn’t leave cocked real long but I can’t remember how long that was.

Re: Crossbow Question - 09/19/21 02:24 AM

Thanks freerange, I am literally asking for a friend that posed the question to me this afternoon. I told him that I had no idea but knew where I could find an answer. up
Posted By: kmon11

Re: Crossbow Question - 09/19/21 03:04 AM

You can leave it on the ready for basically a day hunt and should not hurt it but I would not do that too often. Definitely would not [censored] it for the morning hunt and not shoot it then leave over night to hunt the next day.

Those cables and strings will stretch when done that way and left too long can weaken the limbs. I have seen axel to axel measurement grow by over an inch on one that was left ready to shoot for a week. Lucky new string and cables got it back to close but it had still lost about 20fps even with new string and cables, timed correctly.