Texas Hunting Forum

How broke is it?

Posted By: TxHunter87

How broke is it? - 08/26/20 08:52 PM

Shooting my Mathews Chill R today and after my 2nd shot i heard a rattle.

i thought it was my quiver but took it off and kept tapping the bow till i found it was my top cam. i'm no expert to what all these little parts are called in the cam but in the pics you can see something came out of place and the limbs look to be separating from the cam. Even the bottom one is separating a little. The pin that holds everything together is slipping out as well.

Seeing if anyone knows what this is called, how bad is it. Thanks

Top Cam
[Linked Image]

Bottom Cam
[Linked Image]
Posted By: RJH1

Re: How broke is it? - 08/26/20 09:41 PM

Looks like the E clip is missing on one side. Probably an easy fix for a shop. Don't shoot it and take it in to a Mathews dealer
Posted By: kmon11

Re: How broke is it? - 08/27/20 01:26 AM

Originally Posted by RJH1
Looks like the E clip is missing on one side. Probably an easy fix for a shop. Don't shoot it and take it in to a Mathews dealer

Agree there should be an E clip on both sides holding the axel in place. Handle it with care and take it to the shop. Usually an easy fix but needs to be checked out, I have seen that just happen an other cases come from a twisted limb. Usually though it is just the E clip.

While checking that out is a good time for full chekup and service of the bow

Re: How broke is it? - 08/27/20 01:48 PM

yall are exactly right, its missing the e-clips on the top and botton on the same side of the bow.

i did reach out to Mathews as well who said the same thing. they said i may have to replace the cams and limbs.

im going to bring it into the bow shop where i got it and get all my work done at but how do i know if these parts really do need to be replaced?