Texas Hunting Forum

For you bowhunters

Posted By: sunsetroosters

For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 03:34 PM

What mechanical broad head shoots the truest to a field tip, and which one is your favorite?
Posted By: Navasot

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 03:36 PM

killzone.. but its going to be different per bow/shooter
Posted By: sunsetroosters

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 03:48 PM

I have never used a mechanical before.
Posted By: Aggieman775

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 03:55 PM

I don't use mechanical anymore. Since the blades come out when it hits an animal I don't think the penetration power is as good. Don't think they can brake bone.
Posted By: ChanceHuiet

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 04:10 PM

Mechanical no clue, truest to field tip and my favorite is the QAD Exodus
Posted By: Phantom

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 04:14 PM

We outlawed them on our property. we had to many bad experiences with them. Go fixed blade you wont regret
Posted By: txshntr

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 04:23 PM

I have shot mechanical for years, Spitfire. Never had an issue. Great arrow flight, most have been complete pass thru, and good blood trails. I have shot two Kansas bucks that field dressed 240 and the other wasn't weighed, but was bigger.

It comes down to shot placement and angles. A broadhead isn't going to make up for a poor shot or poor decision.

Granted, there are a few I have tried over the years and have no confidence in them and would never recommend.
Posted By: BOBO the Clown

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 04:31 PM

Not all heads are equal goes for mech and fixed.

I personally think the late ulmer edge is the most robust mech head ever made.

I think penetration with any head has more factors to it then blades opening. Cutting diameter, sharpness, blade angle etc.
Posted By: txtrophy85

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 04:39 PM

I shoot rocket sidewinders....love them
Posted By: jshouse

Re: For you bowhunters - 09/30/15 05:22 PM