Texas Hunting Forum

308 vs 300 blackout in a bolt gun, Suppressed.

Posted By: Kthnx

308 vs 300 blackout in a bolt gun, Suppressed. - 07/09/18 04:00 PM

So I'll be the first to admit that I'm still learning the ins and outs of firearms.

I have my first suppressor coming in and am looking for a lightweight rifle to be it's host. So currently I've been looking into either a 300 blackout or 308.

What I'd like to use this gun for:

1. Subsonic fun, Plinking and target
2. Supersonic hunting

Questions I have about 308.

1. I have heard you need a faster twist rate that usually comes on 308 to stabilize subsonic like a 1:10. Which then limits you to heavier bullets on the supersonic side?
2. 308 subsonics are less consistent because of the larger casing size?
3. Subsonic 308 can have issues with unburnt powder? (I don't reload, is this just an issue with reloaders or factory subsonic)

Questions on the 300 blackout.

1. I'm looking into a bolt action because my understanding is they are usually quieter for the shooter vs a gas gun. Is there truth to this or should I look into a AR15 since the 300 BO was built for that platform? Is it a bad decision to go bolt action on a 300 blackout.

Current thoughts, I like the idea of having a 308 over a 300 blackout because 308 offers more in a supersonic situation, However, I have other firearms that would make up the difference if need be.
Posted By: KRoyal

Re: 308 vs 300 blackout in a bolt gun, Suppressed. - 07/09/18 04:26 PM

So I'll be the first to admit that I'm still learning the ins and outs of firearms.

I have my first suppressor coming in and am looking for a lightweight rifle to be it's host. So currently I've been looking into either a 300 blackout or 308.

What I'd like to use this gun for:

1. Subsonic fun, Plinking and target
2. Supersonic hunting

Questions I have about 308.