Texas Hunting Forum

Barrel break in?

Posted By: _Lee

Barrel break in? - 01/21/18 02:42 PM

What’s your take on breaking in the barrel? I’ve never done it before but going to shoot a new gun tomorrow and wondering how necessary it is. Also if you have a break in method you prefer please share.
Posted By: hdfireman

Re: Barrel break in? - 01/21/18 02:50 PM

Make sure the barrel is good and clean before starting. Then go shoot it, no break in needed
Posted By: Arrowslinger82

Re: Barrel break in? - 01/21/18 02:54 PM

Following
Posted By: Bar-D

Re: Barrel break in? - 01/21/18 02:55 PM

I had never even heard of barrel "break in" until the age of online shooting forums and I have been shooting for over 50 years. There are those that are very meticulous about it, some manufacturers insist on it. I have never done a special break in on a rifle barrel, or a pistol either for that matter. When I shoot a new barrel, I clean and lightly oil it and just shoot it. I don't let the barrel get real hot. I will open the action after a few rds and let it cool down some. I think if you believe it will make the barrel more accurate, by all means do it. Me, never did and my rifles are plenty accurate. To each his own.
Posted By: scottfromdallas

Re: Barrel break in? - 01/21/18 03:24 PM

I'm in the camp of clean it and shoot it. No special break in. I sometimes wonder if these "break in" procedures are built in excuses for custom rifle makers.
Posted By: Judd

Re: Barrel break in? - 01/21/18 03:44 PM

I do what the barrel maker suggests. Who would know the barrel better?
Posted By: hdfireman

Re: Barrel break in? - 01/21/18 03:52 PM

I was told the barrel break in was a scam to cause barrels to shoot out faster. Prob never know the difference from us average shooters. I was told it started with benchrest rifles and they re-barrel if groups open up 1/16th. This break in period would cause them to do so faster meaning more barrels sold.
Posted By: Big Fitz