Texas Hunting Forum

Worst Style of Rings/Bases for a rifle!!!!!

Posted By: ChadTRG42

Worst Style of Rings/Bases for a rifle!!!!! - 12/08/17 12:08 AM

I've been talking about these crappy rings/bases for several years now, and I finally got another rifle in that had some holding zero issues and would not shoot well. So, I am taking some pictures of the rings/bases to show the exact problems with this set up. I have seen this on multiple rifles, and I have to pass on this info. This style of rear windage screws that clamp onto the ring "ears" do not work! They will not hold zero! I have seen many rifles with these rings/bases that will not hold zero and will often times be off their zero, sometimes severely off, with no warning. Granted, most of the rifles I have seen these issues were on a magnum rifle. These rings/bases came off a light weight 300 Wby Mag with a BIG Leupold scope on it. So what's happening is there is a lot of recoil since the rifle is light weight. The scope is a big scope, so there's a lot of weight up top. During recoil, the scope wants to stay in place while the rifle recoils to the rear. There is a lot of force in this one area on the rear windage screw and ring "ears". The result is picture below.

The number one problem of bases/rings that I see is this style of rear windage screw base and ring "ear" set up. Every gun counter in America has a pair of them on the shelf and they are dirt cheap. I highly do NOT recommend this style of rings and bases.

Picture #1- A standard set of rear windage and front dove tail rings and bases.
Picture #2- You can see the rear windage screws of the base clamping onto the "ears" of the rings. If you look close, you can see some slight daylight or uneven area in the front of the ring.
Picture #3- you can see where the windage screw clamps onto the "ears" of the ring, and there's some shiny spots from the movement of the "ears".