Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Decked systems? #8802870 02/16/23 09:08 PM
EasyMoney Offline OP
Pro Tracker
OP Offline
Pro Tracker
Looking for pros and cons of a decked system? I have a half ton ram and just wanted to get some opinions on em before I pulled the trigger. Only issue I can see is they take a lot of depth out of the bed but not sure that’s that big of a deal. Thanks in advance

Re: Decked systems? [Re: EasyMoney] #8802917 02/16/23 10:26 PM
P
psycho0819 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
P
I have the Decked drawer system in my '18 Silverado Crew, and love it. I'm a contractor who travels a lot and keeping tools secure/out of plain view is paramount at hotels and such when on the road. They got in my truck before I bought the drawer system and took me for about $2k worth of tools in Houston. All in loose boxes in the locked topper, right by the front door of the hotel. With the drawers, when you look thru the tinted topper glass it's difficult to see the drawer system at all. And to get in it they have to break into the topper, get the tailgate open (locks with the doors), then get into each locked drawer. I added a couple of eye-bolts, two padlocks, and a length of unistrut across the whole assembly for an additional layer. Each layer by itself is fairly easy to exploit, but all of them together would likely make a would be their move on to an easier smash and grab target. That's the hope anyway, and I haven't had another break-in since installing it.

Installation is easy if you know how to use tools. Did it in about two hours by myself. A second set of hands would make it much quicker.

Durability: I use mine almost daily, have for over two years now. Everything still functions just fine. I've piled a lot of weight on top of mine and never seen it begin to suffer. It's a tough system.