Page 1 of 2 1 2
Passing it Along #8799227 02/10/23 05:31 PM
D
DQ Kid Offline OP
THF Celebrity
OP Offline
THF Celebrity
D
As I reflect on the past deer season and more importantly, the 8th one since my Dad's passing, I vividly recall back to 1985 hunting our lease down in Zapata county. I was a high school sophomore in Corpus and had multiple friends whose parents and/or grandparents had never been hunters, yet they knew I had hunted since age 5/6 with my Dad having taught us brothers. Anyhow, he allowed me to invite 2-3 of them out with us to show them the outdoors and what hunting was and more importantly what it wasn't. Anyhow, my one friend whom had only been to a shooting range previously, was put up one foggy morning into one of our hot tower blinds. We hear two early shots as the fog was starting to lift and when we picked him up around 10:00am, he tells us, "he got one, his first deer - a doe". Anyhow, he had dragged this young, deer, maybe 80 lbs. or so to the road and it was obvious to Dad and I that Curtis had shot a 1st year yearling. Dad's reaction was, "Congratulations Curtis, you did good". Anyhow, the best is yet to come. We get back to camp and hoist Curtis' doe up on the rack and Dad starts to demonstrate and advise Curtis on how to clean the deer. About 3 minutes into it, Dad (Jerry) says, "Curtis, congratulations you accomplished something else with this deer" and Curtis asks, "yeah, what is that Jerry". Dad looks at him and says, "Curtis, not only did you get your first deer, you also dropped your first buck, his balls seem to have just dropped". Turns out, Curtis' yearling killed was also a yearling buck. After some laughing and yucking it up, Dad guided Curtis through the deer cleaning and at the end congratulated him again on the kill and the cleaning job too. Long story short, my Dad, Jerry, could have been a real jerk about the situation, but life was/is too short and the joy that Curtis felt in harvesting his first deer ever - buck ever far