Forums46
Topics536,986
Posts9,719,144
Members86,987
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Working during retirement and receiving social security. #8786638 01/23/23 09:12 PM
T
TPACK Offline OP
Extreme Tracker
OP Offline
Extreme Tracker
T
Are any of you working during retirement while drawing a social security check? If you are, what advice can you give to someone who is considering it? I retired in 2020 @ 62 (Not FRA / currently 64) and started drawing my social security in 2021. My old employer just called me and asked if I would return to work. I told them I would consider it, but I was only interested in part time work and could only make 21,240 per the new 2023 SSI guidelines. TIA

Re: Working during retirement and receiving social security. [Re: TPACK] #8786648 01/23/23 09:37 PM
68rustbucket Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
I’m doing it. Last year I started drawing at 62. I still take an odd job in my trade field occasionally. At the end of the year I had 2 nice paying little projects. One put me at the limit. The other I told the customer to not pay me til after the first of the year. Then did a one night deal last week. I’m pretty much at my limit for the year already.

Re: Working during retirement and receiving social security. [Re: TPACK] #8786653 01/23/23 09:42 PM
D
don k Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
D
I work every day but don't get paid. Does that count?

Re: Working during retirement and receiving social security. [Re: TPACK] #8786704 01/23/23 11:16 PM
A
angus1956 Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
A
If you're not at your full retirement age drawing SSI and you go over the allowed limit while working, they will tax the H*ll out of you. Something like 2 dollars for every dollar you earned.
But, if you're at full retirement age and working, you can draw SSI and make as much money without any tax issues.

This is what I was told, should still be true.