Page 1 of 2 1 2
Income from land #8741700 11/24/22 06:46 PM
T
TXB4 Offline OP
Outdoorsman
OP Offline
Outdoorsman
T
Seriously considering purchasing some land for hunting and a good family getaway in the next couple years. Land costs are high, so looking at some ways to make some money off of the land to help subsidize the payment. Cattle and hay were the obvious ones that come to mind (as well as leasing to hunters- which I would prefer not). What kind of income can come from those types of sources? The more income potential, the more land I’ll look at buying. Appreciate any advice and insight.

Re: Income from land [Re: TXB4] #8741750 11/24/22 08:38 PM
T
txtrophy85 Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
T
I sell land for a living so I’ll offer my insights:

You can produce an income from land from several avenues:

Raising livestock

leasing the grazing rights

Leasing the hunting rights

Oil or other mineral royalties/production ( must own the mineral and be in a producing area)

Wind farm

Solar farm

Farming/leasing the farming rights

Agri-tourism

Issues arise with all scenarios….I’ll use my personal property as a example:

I don’t want to raise livestock, so that takes that away. I could lease the grazing rights for prolly $3.00/acre but would only cover my property taxes and would be a burden on the land.

I bought the property so my family could hunt and I’m not interested in leasing the hunting to make a few thousand bucks a year

I own no minerals and am not in a producing zone so oil revenue is not an option.

Am not in a an area where they are erecting wind farms ( thank God)

Am not in an area that has transmission lines were a solar farm would be feasible, and the terrain is too rugged.

Unless we have a viable use for a good rock crop farming is gonna be a non-start.