Forums46
Topics537,811
Posts9,729,401
Members87,042
Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Page 2 of 2 1 2
Re: Honest Opinion — Is a Boat Worth It? [Re: steventtu] #8736491 11/17/22 03:58 PM
BOBO the Clown Online Content
kind of a big deal
Online Content
kind of a big deal
Originally Posted by steventtu
So, I'll start by saying that I'm fairly new to duck hunting. This is my third season, but I'm absolutely loving everything about it. I've hunted public land and small water so far, with decent success—limits are rare, but I generally get a bird or two, so no complaints. My question is, do you think it's worth taking the next step and going with a duck boat?

I know there's much more to hunting than just shooting ducks, but do the more experienced hunters out there think that having access to a boat increases your overall success? Or is it more about the experience of loading up the boat and cruising to a new area? The only reason I ask is because I see a lot of big lake hunters talk about how horrible the hunting is, so I don't want to invest in something that just doesn't make sense. I'm guessing that I just hear about the bad hunts on forums, though, and there are probably more successful hunts than I realize.

I have a 15-foot aluminum boat that I'm refurbishing, and I'm considering getting a 20hp in the next few months so I can put a boat in the mix next season. Anyways, I'd love to hear your opinion on the boat vs no-boat debate!

At that size yes since it’s a minimal investment. It will open up more regional options like the coast. With that said be smart. Know the weather and forecast, learn to run shore lines if need be. Regardless if wind or weather is bad walk out and try not to hunt a spot you can’t walk out,

Donate to TX Youth hunting program.... better to donate then to waste it in taxes

https://secure.qgiv.com/for/gtgoh/mobile
Re: Honest Opinion — Is a Boat Worth It? [Re: steventtu] #8739832 11/22/22 02:53 AM
B
BDB Online Content
Pro Tracker