Page 1 of 2 1 2
Is a Dove Hunt Right for a New Dog? #8659693 08/08/22 11:41 PM
S
steventtu Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
S
So I'm heading out on a dove hunt in September, and I was thinking about taking my 10-month-old English cocker along for his first hunt. Is a dove hunt the best place to introduce him to hunting? It'll be large groups of us hunting over fields. My dog is completely gun broken, and does a good job on retrieves, but he's also young and struggles with steadiness and some obedience. I'm of the opinion that he has to start somewhere, but I'm a little worried if a large-scale dove hunt is the place to do it.

I'd love to hear some thoughts! This is my first bird dog, so I'm pretty new to all of this.

Re: Is a Dove Hunt Right for a New Dog? [Re: steventtu] #8659701 08/08/22 11:47 PM
S
Stompy Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
S
As a Dove Outfitter my issue has been a few times that some dogs that are not trained very well will spoil a hunt for the whole field. Running all around the field and bugging other hunters. I allow folks to bring their dogs, but they better be well trained, or they're going in the kennel and staying there.

www.jaranchhunting.com
Cabin Rentals on the ranch for Hubbard Creek Lake
Re: Is a Dove Hunt Right for a New Dog? [Re: steventtu] #8659704 08/08/22 11:51 PM
Guy Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
You would do your pup a great favor by putting your gun down, and focus on your pup, keeping him steady and send him on retrieves and watching him.

Re: Is a Dove Hunt Right for a New Dog? [Re: Guy] #8659722 08/09/22 12:13 AM
S
scalebuster Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
S
Originally Posted by Guy
You would do your pup a great favor by putting your gun down, and focus on your pup, keeping him steady and send him on retrieves and watching him.