texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
carr, BigSpin, Bart, KeyWestKen, Hunt-Fish-231
70158 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 110,533
bill oxner 91,416
SnakeWrangler 63,591
stxranchman 59,968
Gravytrain 46,950
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,461
BMD 41,239
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics609,199
Posts11,319,477
Members85,158
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? #8629605 06/27/22 04:19 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
B
BayouGuy Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
B
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
I have a 12,000 Wat generator with a four wire 6 GA cable to hook the generator from the 50-amp outlet on the generator to a 50-amp power inlet box on my service panel. The generator end of the cable has a 4-prong male connector (ground, neutral and two hots). But the end of the cable for the power inlet box has a 3-slot female connector (ground, neutral and one hot). So, the two hot lines of the cable are connected to two prongs at the generator. But both hot lines are connected to one slot at the inlet box. Why is that?


If you can't laugh at yourself, give me a call. I'll gladly laugh at you.

"I keep trying to see Nancy Pelosi's and Chuck Schumer's point of view,
but I can't seem to get my head that far up my [censored]." Senator John Kennedy, Louisiana
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8629624 06/27/22 04:54 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 509
T
Tru_texan36 Offline
Tracker
Offline
Tracker
T
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 509
Your generator is only producing a single phase, the house has two phases.

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8629628 06/27/22 04:58 PM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,425
nak Online Sleepy
Veteran Tracker
Online Sleepy
Veteran Tracker
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,425
Take pictures of both ends. Sounds like the standard 30 AMP RV Plug, shown below


[Linked Image]

That plug is for connected a 30 AMP 120 RV cord to a 50 amp RV outlet. Of of the hot wires from the 50 side is not connected


Is there a manual transfer switch or something inside the house, by the breaker box?

Last edited by nak; 06/27/22 05:01 PM.

NRA Lifer / Member TSRA
Life is too short to go quail hunting with the wrong folks.
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: Tru_texan36] #8629710 06/27/22 07:06 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 11,744
P
Paluxy Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 11,744
Originally Posted by Tru_texan36
Your generator is only producing a single phase, the house has two phases.


I get what you're thinking on the 2 phases (I think) but the house is likely single phase 220v, very few residences have 3 phase service. The cable in the OP sounds like it was made to run a RV with 30amp service.

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: Paluxy] #8629715 06/27/22 07:17 PM
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 9,121
I
ILUVBIGBUCKS Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
I
Joined: May 2006
Posts: 9,121
Originally Posted by Paluxy
Originally Posted by Tru_texan36
Your generator is only producing a single phase, the house has two phases.


I get what you're thinking on the 2 phases (I think) but the house is likely single phase 220v, very few residences have 3 phase service. The cable in the OP sounds like it was made to run a RV with 30amp service.



Single phase 240v is what pretty much all houses have and likely what your gen set is producing. The post above showing the RB cord is the most likely correct answer.
You will have to purchase a cord that is 4-wire (2 hots, neutral, ground) that will work from the gen set to your panel or disconnect/transfer switch (however you are wiring it in).


High fence, low fence, no fence, it really doesn't matter as long as you're hunting!
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8629789 06/27/22 09:25 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,759
oldoak2000 Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,759
Originally Posted by BayouGuy
I have a 12,000 Wat generator with a four wire 6 GA cable to hook the generator from the 50-amp outlet on the generator to a 50-amp power inlet box on my service panel. The generator end of the cable has a 4-prong male connector (ground, neutral and two hots). But the end of the cable for the power inlet box has a 3-slot female connector (ground, neutral and one hot). So, the two hot lines of the cable are connected to two prongs at the generator. But both hot lines are connected to one slot at the inlet box. Why is that?



What's the model# of the Generator? Perhaps you have it wrong on the 3-prong plug, and there are 2 hots and a neutral.
Technically a generator is supposed to be grounded at the generator location, and so a 'ground' line would not need to be ran back to a service-panel inlet box as those should already be grounded itself.

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8629852 06/27/22 11:03 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,418
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,418
Can you post a picture of the panel on your generator?


If you can't bedazzle them with your intelligence, just baffle them with B.S.
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: Tru_texan36] #8629878 06/27/22 11:29 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,072
P
Poppa Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
P
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,072
Originally Posted by Tru_texan36
Your generator is only producing a single phase, the house has two phases.

wrong answer. two legs same phase

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8629892 06/27/22 11:51 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 11,744
P
Paluxy Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 11,744
Originally Posted by Poppa
Originally Posted by Tru_texan36
Your generator is only producing a single phase, the house has two phases.

wrong answer. two legs same phase


Single phase refers to the transformer primary, the transformer secondary is what gives you two 120v legs that are out of phase.

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: Lazyjack] #8629979 06/28/22 01:31 AM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
B
BayouGuy Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
B
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
Originally Posted by Lazyjack
Can you post a picture of the panel on your generator?


[Linked Image]


If you can't laugh at yourself, give me a call. I'll gladly laugh at you.

"I keep trying to see Nancy Pelosi's and Chuck Schumer's point of view,
but I can't seem to get my head that far up my [censored]." Senator John Kennedy, Louisiana
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8630067 06/28/22 03:04 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,759
oldoak2000 Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,759
based on that pic looks like a variant of a Westinghouse 12,000 generator - WGEN12000 - https://www.electricgeneratorsdirect.com/Westinghouse-WGEN12000-Portable-Generator/p95392.html

and the cable is 50A 240V, as I suggested earlier - so it has 2 hots and a neutral, so that you can get full 12000 watts into your home, 2 legs of 120v with a common neutral.
The 4th prong, the ground, is not used at the 3-prong twistlock plug - which is why you have a grounding lug on the panel lower right side, to ground the generator right at it's location!

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: oldoak2000] #8630078 06/28/22 03:34 AM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
B
BayouGuy Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
B
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
Originally Posted by oldoak2000
based on that pic looks like a variant of a Westinghouse 12,000 generator - WGEN12000 - https://www.electricgeneratorsdirect.com/Westinghouse-WGEN12000-Portable-Generator/p95392.html

and the cable is 50A 240V, as I suggested earlier - so it has 2 hots and a neutral, so that you can get full 12000 watts into your home, 2 legs of 120v with a common neutral.
The 4th prong, the ground, is not used at the 3-prong twistlock plug - which is why you have a grounding lug on the panel lower right side, to ground the generator right at it's location!


OK, I can see that. And my generator is grounded to an in-ground rod. But why four wires and four prongs at the generator end if only three wires are used at the service panel end?


If you can't laugh at yourself, give me a call. I'll gladly laugh at you.

"I keep trying to see Nancy Pelosi's and Chuck Schumer's point of view,
but I can't seem to get my head that far up my [censored]." Senator John Kennedy, Louisiana
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8630079 06/28/22 03:43 AM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,759
oldoak2000 Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,759
Originally Posted by BayouGuy
. But why four wires and four prongs at the generator end if only three wires are used at the service panel end?


The generator has a 4-wire socket in case you have an application that needs a ground separated from the neutral.
The manual (online) shows how to separate the neutral from bonded (to ground) to unbonded.
If loads are remote, you do not want to have both a ground wire and a neutral wire running the distance with both bonded on both ends as then half of any neutral current WILL FLOW across the ground wire too! - no bueno!

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: oldoak2000] #8630189 06/28/22 12:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,418
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,418
Originally Posted by oldoak2000
Originally Posted by BayouGuy
. But why four wires and four prongs at the generator end if only three wires are used at the service panel end?


The generator has a 4-wire socket in case you have an application that needs a ground separated from the neutral.
The manual (online) shows how to separate the neutral from bonded (to ground) to unbonded.
If loads are remote, you do not want to have both a ground wire and a neutral wire running the distance with both bonded on both ends as then half of any neutral current WILL FLOW across the ground wire too! - no bueno!


I am not an electrician so take my opinion as such. But this i my understanding as well. Let me add...
Your home only has 3 wires fed from utility company. 2 "hot" conductors to provide 120/240 volts and a neutral. House panel is grounded and transomer from utility company is grounded for safety.

The genny hook up will replace utility hook up. So genny hook up will mimic drop from utility company.


If you can't bedazzle them with your intelligence, just baffle them with B.S.
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8630243 06/28/22 01:38 PM
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 11,744
P
Paluxy Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
P
Joined: Jan 2014
Posts: 11,744
Originally Posted by BayouGuy
I have a 12,000 Wat generator with a four wire 6 GA cable to hook the generator from the 50-amp outlet on the generator to a 50-amp power inlet box on my service panel. The generator end of the cable has a 4-prong male connector (ground, neutral and two hots). But the end of the cable for the power inlet box has a 3-slot female connector (ground, neutral and one hot). So, the two hot lines of the cable are connected to two prongs at the generator. But both hot lines are connected to one slot at the inlet box. Why is that?


You need to get a multimeter and verify the cable wiring if you think both hot lines are connected together at the 3 prong inlet box end. That would be bad, if it is actually wired that way you would trip breakers at the generator as it is a direct short between hots.

Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: Paluxy] #8630274 06/28/22 02:11 PM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,418
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,418
Originally Posted by Paluxy
Originally Posted by BayouGuy
I have a 12,000 Wat generator with a four wire 6 GA cable to hook the generator from the 50-amp outlet on the generator to a 50-amp power inlet box on my service panel. The generator end of the cable has a 4-prong male connector (ground, neutral and two hots). But the end of the cable for the power inlet box has a 3-slot female connector (ground, neutral and one hot). So, the two hot lines of the cable are connected to two prongs at the generator. But both hot lines are connected to one slot at the inlet box. Why is that?


You need to get a multimeter and verify the cable wiring if you think both hot lines are connected together at the 3 prong inlet box end. That would be bad, if it is actually wired that way you would trip breakers at the generator as it is a direct short between hots.


Yeah. After looking at gen panel, I cant see any reason for any double lug. Who hooked this up?


If you can't bedazzle them with your intelligence, just baffle them with B.S.
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: Paluxy] #8630311 06/28/22 02:58 PM
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
B
BayouGuy Offline OP
Veteran Tracker
OP Offline
Veteran Tracker
B
Joined: Mar 2013
Posts: 3,286
Originally Posted by Paluxy
Originally Posted by BayouGuy
I have a 12,000 Wat generator with a four wire 6 GA cable to hook the generator from the 50-amp outlet on the generator to a 50-amp power inlet box on my service panel. The generator end of the cable has a 4-prong male connector (ground, neutral and two hots). But the end of the cable for the power inlet box has a 3-slot female connector (ground, neutral and one hot). So, the two hot lines of the cable are connected to two prongs at the generator. But both hot lines are connected to one slot at the inlet box. Why is that?


You need to get a multimeter and verify the cable wiring if you think both hot lines are connected together at the 3 prong inlet box end. That would be bad, if it is actually wired that way you would trip breakers at the generator as it is a direct short between hots.



My bad. The wiring at the inlet box is hot/hot/neutral. The ground wire from the cable is not used. It seems I paid for a 4-wire 6 GA cable when a 3-wire cable would have done the job.


If you can't laugh at yourself, give me a call. I'll gladly laugh at you.

"I keep trying to see Nancy Pelosi's and Chuck Schumer's point of view,
but I can't seem to get my head that far up my [censored]." Senator John Kennedy, Louisiana
Re: Will Some Electrician Explain this to Me? [Re: BayouGuy] #8630761 06/29/22 02:52 AM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 10,975
S
Simple Searcher Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
S
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 10,975
I have seen 4 wire connections that were three prong, with the ground being the casing/shell of the connector. Is it possible that this is what you have at the inlet box?


[Linked Image]

"Man is still a hunter, still a simple searcher after meat..." Robert C. Ruark
Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3