texashuntingforum.com logo
Main Menu
Advertisement
Affiliates
Advertisement
Newest Members
trophy_seeker, Huntin-fool, BigO73, Txhunting guy, Hizenbay
69965 Registered Users
Top Posters(All Time)
dogcatcher 110,447
bill oxner 91,415
SnakeWrangler 63,396
stxranchman 59,968
Gravytrain 46,716
RKHarm24 44,585
rifleman 44,461
BMD 41,232
Forum Statistics
Forums46
Topics606,116
Posts11,279,207
Members84,965
Most Online19,184
Feb 5th, 2020
Print Thread
HVAC question #8629287 06/27/22 01:50 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
N
ntxtrapper Online Content OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
N
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
Fairly new system and there was a slight change in sound while it was running but just for a second. Almost like a partial power outage and now it's running hot air. Outside fan runs, line set isn't frozen and a brand new filter. I turned it off for a few minutes and back on with no change. Any ideas?


"Whosoever is delighted in solitude, is either a wild beast or a god."

- Aristotle
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629292 06/27/22 01:57 AM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,800
T
TexasKC Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
T
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,800
If I had to guess I'd say its a bad capacitor.


In the end, it's not the years in your life that count, it's the life in your years.
Re: HVAC question [Re: TexasKC] #8629297 06/27/22 02:04 AM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 12,312
B
bucksnbass357 Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
B
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 12,312
Originally Posted by TexasKC
If I had to guess I'd say its a bad capacitor.


Most likely

Re: HVAC question [Re: bucksnbass357] #8629322 06/27/22 02:32 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,202
TurkeyHunter Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,202
Originally Posted by bucksnbass357
Originally Posted by TexasKC
If I had to guess I'd say its a bad capacitor.


Most likely


If you know what you’re doing it’s handy to buy one online or Grainger just to have on hand.


Aio, quantitas magna frumentorum est
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629351 06/27/22 03:03 AM
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 13,625
Roll-Tide Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Joined: Jun 2015
Posts: 13,625
If it is capacitor. Buy 2, one for next time.
Write date installed on the side of it with a marker.

Re: HVAC question [Re: Roll-Tide] #8629354 06/27/22 03:07 AM
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,202
TurkeyHunter Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
Joined: Apr 2005
Posts: 16,202
Originally Posted by Roll-Tide
If it is capacitor. Buy 2, one for next time.
Write date installed on the side of it with a marker.


up

And make sure you know about handling capacitors. Good multi meter is also helpful.


Aio, quantitas magna frumentorum est
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629356 06/27/22 03:10 AM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,354
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,354
You could have had a brown out or brief power outage. If so, there is a thermal overload deep inside compressor that probably tripped. It opens on high internal temperature of compressor. Compressor will not run untill the compressor cools a bit, almost to ambient temp. Thermal overload will reset and compressor will start and run.

Could 1 to 3 hours to reset.

This is common in extreme grid loads. Hope that was all that happened. Good luck


If you can't bedazzle them with your intelligence, just baffle them with B.S.
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629359 06/27/22 03:16 AM
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,660
S
Stump_jumper Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
S
Joined: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,660
When the capacitor failed on my outside unit the fan quit running.


2017 Tundra 5.7 CM 4x4
2006 Champion 2200 Bay Boat
Re: HVAC question [Re: Lazyjack] #8629367 06/27/22 03:38 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
N
ntxtrapper Online Content OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
N
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
Originally Posted by Lazyjack
You could have had a brown out or brief power outage. If so, there is a thermal overload deep inside compressor that probably tripped. It opens on high internal temperature of compressor. Compressor will not run untill the compressor cools a bit, almost to ambient temp. Thermal overload will reset and compressor will start and run.

Could 1 to 3 hours to reset.

This is common in extreme grid loads. Hope that was all that happened. Good luck


And you are the winner! Thank you very much. I knew that brief power outage had something to do with it. It just needed to cool off and I'm blowing cold air again. Thanks again.


"Whosoever is delighted in solitude, is either a wild beast or a god."

- Aristotle
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629377 06/27/22 04:52 AM
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,388
nak Offline
Veteran Tracker
Offline
Veteran Tracker
Joined: Aug 2012
Posts: 2,388
Kill the breakers to the inside and outside units, then flip them back on.

Modern units have control boards in both the air handle and the compressor. Maybe cycling power will wake it up...


NRA Lifer / Member TSRA
Life is too short to go quail hunting with the wrong folks.
Re: HVAC question [Re: nak] #8629379 06/27/22 04:58 AM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
N
ntxtrapper Online Content OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
N
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
Originally Posted by nak
Kill the breakers to the inside and outside units, then flip them back on.

Modern units have control boards in both the air handle and the compressor. Maybe cycling power will wake it up...



See above your post. Lazyjack nailed it.


"Whosoever is delighted in solitude, is either a wild beast or a god."

- Aristotle
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629400 06/27/22 10:19 AM
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,354
L
Lazyjack Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
L
Joined: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,354
Originally Posted by ntxtrapper
Originally Posted by Lazyjack
You could have had a brown out or brief power outage. If so, there is a thermal overload deep inside compressor that probably tripped. It opens on high internal temperature of compressor. Compressor will not run untill the compressor cools a bit, almost to ambient temp. Thermal overload will reset and compressor will start and run.

Could 1 to 3 hours to reset.

This is common in extreme grid loads. Hope that was all that happened. Good luck


And you are the winner! Thank you very much. I knew that brief power outage had something to do with it. It just needed to cool off and I'm blowing cold air again. Thanks again.

Good deal


If you can't bedazzle them with your intelligence, just baffle them with B.S.
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629463 06/27/22 12:50 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 91,415
bill oxner Offline
THF Celebrity
Offline
THF Celebrity
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 91,415
Call the man.


Quail hunting is like walking into, and out of a beautiful painting all day long. Gene Hill


[Linked Image]




Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629483 06/27/22 01:19 PM
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,979
R
RayB Online Content
red bone Bob
Online Content
red bone Bob
R
Joined: Nov 2009
Posts: 4,979
If your going to play with a capacitor, after you turn the power off be sure and short across the terminals before touching them. They hold a charge. But do cycle the power before you do anything.

Last edited by RayB; 06/27/22 01:19 PM.

There is time, and you must take it, to lay your hand on your dog's head as you walk past him lying on the floor or on his settle, time to talk with him, to remember with him, time to please him, time you can't buy back once he's gone" GBE
Re: HVAC question [Re: bill oxner] #8629486 06/27/22 01:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
N
ntxtrapper Online Content OP
THF Trophy Hunter
OP Online Content
THF Trophy Hunter
N
Joined: Mar 2010
Posts: 6,786
Originally Posted by bill oxner
Call the man.


[Linked Image]


"Whosoever is delighted in solitude, is either a wild beast or a god."

- Aristotle
Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629511 06/27/22 02:03 PM
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,698
oldoak2000 Offline
Extreme Tracker
Offline
Extreme Tracker
Joined: Sep 2007
Posts: 3,698
Originally Posted by ntxtrapper
Originally Posted by Lazyjack
You could have had a brown out or brief power outage. If so, there is a thermal overload deep inside compressor that probably tripped. It opens on high internal temperature of compressor. Compressor will not run untill the compressor cools a bit, almost to ambient temp. Thermal overload will reset and compressor will start and run.

Could 1 to 3 hours to reset.

This is common in extreme grid loads. Hope that was all that happened. Good luck


And you are the winner! Thank you very much. I knew that brief power outage had something to do with it. It just needed to cool off and I'm blowing cold air again. Thanks again.



Lotta newer units have a 5-min timeout timer in the control board. It helps protect the compressor from short-cycling.
If these power or cycle off for any reason, it waits 5 min before allowing compressor to restart. Maybe your power flickered and caused a timer cycle?

Re: HVAC question [Re: ntxtrapper] #8629614 06/27/22 04:28 PM
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,014
P
Poppa Online Content
Pro Tracker
Online Content
Pro Tracker
P
Joined: Feb 2019
Posts: 1,014
it would still be a good idea to get a cap for the outdoor unit. its prolly a dual cap that serves the outdoor fan and compressor. it can and will fail on the fan side or comp side or both. unless you have an inverter driven unit which it dosent sound like you do.

Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread

© 2004-2022 OUTDOOR SITES NETWORK all rights reserved USA and Worldwide
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3