Print Thread
Random hog hunting questions… #8540504 02/24/22 11:30 PM
S
Soda4Rocky Offline OP
Light Foot
OP Offline
Light Foot
S
I have been hunting hogs for only about 3 years. I have learned a lot during that time, but I am sometimes “stumped” by these clever creatures. Here are a few questions that I have that maybe you could give me some insight on:

1. Finding fresh poop: When I am on a spot and stalk hunt and see fresh poop, what should be my next action? This past week I was on a hunt and saw some fresh droppings and could even smell the hogs. I stayed low and was down wind, but alas, never got on them. No idea why. What should I have done in that scenario? Keep charging hard towards them? Stop and wait? See what happens?

2. Smelling the hogs: Again, when I am CERTAIN I smell them, what should I do? About how far away are they? Can you smell them from a pretty good range or does that make them within a relatively close distance?

3. Can I make the same trip multiple times?: Meaning, the land that I was on has an entrance on the north end. The wind was coming in from the south so I walked towards the wind the entire time. Well, eventually, I got to the end and thought, “well, guess that is done”. Could I have gone back to a starting point and walk in relatively the same direction or do you think the hogs would be gone?

Maybe these are dumb questions, but I still haven’t mastered the “spot and stalk”. Some of it may be because I’m impatient or maybe I have no idea what I am doing. I will say this, I always try and track the wind and stay in a good place. One of the last hogs I have killed while stalking was actually down wind of me, head down. Had no idea I was there. Who knows. Anyway, any input would be great! For the last year I have primarily been hunting at night with a thermal which changes the game. I plan on doing more spot and stalk when Spring rolls around. Thanks!

“Pain don’t hurt.” - Dalton