Print Thread
Bias against heavy bows in Trad shooting #8483609 12/22/21 02:11 PM
M
Matagorda Mud Pig Offline OP
Tracker
OP Offline
Tracker
M
I've notice recently there is almost this antipathy towards shooting heavy poundage bows in trad archery. My current bow pulls about 54 pounds and I can aim and hold it steady for minutes. I'd like to upgrade at least 15 more pounds. I read recently that Howard Hill shot a 90 pound bow and his wife a 75 pound bow.

Any of you trad guys shoot a heavy bow? Does it increase your effective kill distance?

This is my first year with my trad bow and its been one of my best: 4 deer and 7 pigs and its really made me a better hunter. However, my effective range is a measly 15 yards. After 15 my trajectory gets really wonky with my heavy and high FOC arrow. Hoping maybe a heavier poundage bow would cure that.

So what poundage do you shoot?

Re: Bias against heavy bows in Trad shooting [Re: Matagorda Mud Pig] #8484629 12/23/21 12:44 PM
R
RattlesnakeDan Online Content
Veteran Tracker
Online Content
Veteran Tracker
R
I had a custom takedown longbow made years ago and I believe it is 62# and it is still comfortable to shoot but each year it feels a little more stout because i don't shoot too much anymore. I had a 90# Greevy (sp) that I bought from a bow shop back in my prime when I could lift a house up by the corner and it took me 2 days to get it strung and then it destroyed my back trying to shoot it. (Later I asked why they sold it to me so cheap ($200) they said because nobody could string it) I gave it to my brother who was quite a bit smaller than me but he did sheet metal work and raced motocross and I guess he had the right back muscles for it and he shot that bow for years. As a matter of fact he just took 1st place in his moto in Colorado at age 62 and is in great shape but he can no longer shoot it. I tried buying it from him but he won't sell it too me. haha.

Just like Jesus, sometimes you gotta kill some hogs.