Print Thread
Deer Protein #8478817 12/17/21 09:10 PM
C
ctonsmitty Offline OP
Bird Dog
OP Offline
Bird Dog
C
Who can tell success or disappointment in their experience in feeding deer protein? I have been feeding protein since January 2021 and I would generally describe my experience as mostly disappointing. My feeders have panels around them and have a corn feeder in the pen. They eat corn pretty much every single day and a few deer nibble on the protein and most of them ignore it completely. The 1250# All Season feeders are currently filled with 20% Berry Flavored Sportsman Choice. Based on dealer location, I am thinking of switching to Antler Max or West, however, I would travel if someone can convince it is worth it (I am talking about you Double Down)

These are the brands I am interested in discussing

Purina Antler Max---I have read mostly positive reviews (and nearest dealer is 10 miles away)
Lyssy and Eckels--I fed this in the Hill Country and deer hammered it, but closest dealer is 3 hours away
Double Down--The lease I was on for a year used this and we had success. Closest dealer is 45 miles away
Sportsman Choice--I have read good reviews, however, personally disappointed. Can someone convince me to stick with it or is it time to move on?
West Protein---there is a dealer within reasonable driving distance, but I would like to hear others experience

Re: Deer Protein [Re: ctonsmitty] #8478819 12/17/21 09:19 PM
J
Jimbo1 Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
J
Can’t go wrong with Antlermax. Deer here prefer it to the feed store stuff.

FJB - Lets Go Brandon
BBB - Bring Back Better
Awake - Not Woke!
Re: Deer Protein [Re: ctonsmitty] #8478822 12/17/21 09:20 PM
D
DQ Kid Online Content
THF Celebrity
Online Content
THF Celebrity
D
Originally Posted by ctonsmitty