Print Thread
Opinions on “jump shooting” public land? #8469720 12/08/21 03:51 PM
D
Danny_DeerVito Offline OP
Woodsman
OP Offline
Woodsman
D
This is my first year trying duck hunting.
I have public land near my house, based around a lake/creek, but includes a mix of very thick woods, a few tall grass fields, and the occasional isolated water hole from when the creek has flooded in past years.
I don’t have any sort of water vessel to hunt the main water or large creek, so I was considering hiking through the property in an attempt to hit as many water spots as possible, hoping to find maybe a few birds.

Is this considered an unethical way to duck hunt public property or is it more common than I think?

Re: Opinions on “jump shooting” public land? [Re: Danny_DeerVito] #8469726 12/08/21 03:56 PM
D
ducknbass Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
D
I’d not do it at sun up. Maybe 10 on. Really it’s public. Just be safe and don’t shoot someone’s decoys. I wouldn’t like it but reality is it’s public.

Re: Opinions on “jump shooting” public land? [Re: Danny_DeerVito] #8469739 12/08/21 04:02 PM
R
rickym Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
R
Not as common here as it is elsewhere, but I agree with ducknbass, I wouldn’t be stomping through at first light. Set up on a waterhole and hunt it for awhile before walking. Or set up in an open area so you can get a good view of the sky and just watch where birds are going.

Re: Opinions on “jump shooting” public land? [Re: Danny_DeerVito] #8469820 12/08/21 05:31 PM
Guy Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity
It’s pretty hard to jump ducks on public, more than likely they will fly off before you get in range. Jumping ducks is more associate with sneaking over a tank dam.

Re: Opinions on “jump shooting” public land? [Re: Danny_DeerVito] #8469848 12/08/21 05:58 PM
Guy Offline
THF Celebrity
THF Celebrity