Print Thread
NV or Thermal Scope #8467071 12/05/21 02:58 PM
D
Danny L. Weems Offline OP
Green Horn
OP Offline
Green Horn
D
Hey guys this is my first post on here, been on the TFF for years but just getting back into hunting and looking to thin out some of the hogs that have been tearing up my pastures.
Im looking for recommendations on something to shoot at night up to 300 yards off an AR-15.
There are so many options for nv or thermal and I have zero experience with any of them.
A friend has a ATN Thor 4 640 but I’m not sure that is the best for what I’m looking to do.
I like the idea of having an add on thermal so that I can have a 1x6 or 1x8 for daytime hunting and home defense then add the thermal for nighttime.
Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Danny

Danny L. Weems
Re: NV or Thermal Scope [Re: Danny L. Weems] #8467107 12/05/21 03:56 PM
Double Naught Spy Offline
THF Trophy Hunter
THF Trophy Hunter
Just my opinion, but ATN isn't a brand that anybody should want to use.

Clip-ons have their place. I am not a fan of them in general. People often think that a clip-on thermal will allow them the best of both worlds between a daylight optic and a thermal and it is something of a compromise on the thermal side. You can zoom your daylight scope to 8x, but your clip-on image will be a 1x image magnified 8 times, sort of like holding a magnifying glass up to your TV screen. The process does work, but not as well as a dedicated thermal rifle scope.

With that said, I would suggest you look into a Bering Optics Super Yoter-C (C for clip-on) as being the best bang for your buck if you go the clip-on route. For 300 yard shots, you are definitely going to want a 640 resolution clip-on and not anything less.

Hogdalorian - Si vis pacem cum sus, para bellum.
My Videos https://www.youtube.com/user/HornHillRange
Re: NV or Thermal Scope [Re: Danny L. Weems] #8467220 12/05/21 06:17 PM
syncerus Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker