Most Online25,604
Feb 12th, 2024
Print Thread
Thermal scanner magnification? #8460194 11/27/21 05:19 PM
syncerus Online Content OP
Extreme Tracker
OP Online Content
Extreme Tracker
In other threads, I've seen 1x optical magnification recommended for general scanner use. I don't doubt the recommendation, but that seems very strange given I normally use 7x or 8x binos in day time. I've seen options available from 0.7x up to perhaps 3.5x. Are the low powered options really that usable?

NRA Patriot Benefactor & DSC Lifer
Re: Thermal scanner magnification? [Re: syncerus] #8460218 11/27/21 06:08 PM
D
der Teufel Offline
Veteran Tracker
Veteran Tracker
D
I'm not an expert, and I defer to those with more experience and knowledge.

I have an old 1X monocular. It's certainly usable. Thermal does tend to make warm things (animals) really stand out, so you perhaps don't need high magnification just to identify an animal in your vicinity. I use mine to scan a large field, and if I see something that warrants further investigation I fire up my rifle scope and look through it.

I have been thinking lately about upgrading my monocular, and I'm undecided what magnification to get (assuming I actually get something new). It's an interesting discussion topic.

I have two unwritten rules:
Re: Thermal scanner magnification? [Re: syncerus] #8460422 11/27/21 11:38 PM
P
Pig_Popper Online Content
Extreme Tracker
Online Content
Extreme Tracker
P
It’s not so much that 1x is better than 5-6x in thermal, it’s more about the clarity you get in thermal at the higher base magnifications.

You first have to find a manufacture that offers those high mags and next have to deal with the added cost and weight of the big germanium lens to do it with.

Again all things considered a 5-6x thermal image won’t be as crisp as traditional binos or what some thermal scopes can do at 3-4x magnification.

I think it’s probably to do with finer rendering of heat/cold at extended ranges ….